Poets logo

Yanderi

A poem dedicated to a beautiful woman. She's a mother, a daughter, and my best friend.

By Mario Garnica jrPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Oh, my beautiful girl you’ve come from afar, in hopes of living your dream. Look at those dark eyes reflecting your three beautiful kids.

You held me close through my toughest nights, not caring about your tired eyes. Wonder Woman can lift cars and buildings too. But you brighten up hearts and that’s completely true.

You’ve suffered burns, and let’s not forget all those healed wounds. They tell your childhood story all the way from the womb. Beautiful woman with the long dark hair. “Una chingona” I’ll shout to the air.

Everyone calls you Iris, when will you finally say that’s not your name? I guess it doesn’t matter because it won’t change the way you illuminate their day.

Girl with the battle scars from your youthful past. Who knew one day you’d be worth more than a million bucks? I know you don’t see it because you’re so hard on yourself. But believe when I say it, to us you’re the best.

Sometimes I wish I was the oldest, so I could protect you from those fools, mensos, huevones. How can I forget? Of course, I remember! The day I busted a brick on that dude’s shoulders. I might have been young, but I knew better. I hope he remembers the lesson to treat women better.

Brown princess let your light shine. When you smile and dance it all becomes bright. With you I learned how to spin and guide, remember when we took home that sweet prize?!

Your daughter is my princess and the boys so dear to my heart. I see them all, as a work of art. Each one has a loving trait given to them by their mom, a hardworking woman who has been through a lot.

Not one day goes by, without thanking God. Thank you for giving me a second mom! I love you dear woman for being so tough. You’re, my angel, my friend, my confident, secret keeper. I love you forever, my dear older sister.

In honor of International Women’s Day, I dedicate this writing piece to an amazing woman who I admire dearly. She has been my best friend since I came to this world. A hardworking mother, a great friend to everyone who crosses her path, and a good wife. She has scolded me when I needed it and dried my tears when I had no strength to do it myself. Her will power is admirable. Something I can’t respect enough about this woman is seeing where she is now compared to where she started. She came to this country without much knowledge of the language. But it didn’t stop her from trying to make a better life for herself. She now has the opportunity to work with children who have the same language barrier. It fills my heart with joy the shared stories about the kid’s improvement in her class. At one point I witnesses her work two jobs and I’m not talking part times either. She worked long hours to make sure her first two children had everything they needed. Her sacrifices were not made in vain though. Her oldest kids turned out to be good young men and her little daughter is following a good example of a hardworking woman. Being a teenage mom didn’t hold her back, it was her drive to keep pushing forward. That’s why I chose her as my inspiration for this writing. I needed to honor her every struggle and success as a young Latina. So, here it is, a glimpse of the woman I have the privilege of calling big sister.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Mario Garnica jr

Hello, my name is Mario and I’ve always enjoyed writing. Whether it’s creating stories, or using my own life to inspire me. I've collected many drafts over the years. Come along, I think it’s time to share with you all.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.