Poets logo

Xanthic

A journey from hell and back

By JolynePublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Like
Personal painting

A journey from hell and back

Began innocently

Caring and teaching

Did I ask for it? I’m still wondering

Expectations were high

Failing was not an option

***

Ghosts of the past

Haunted her till paranoia

Inside of her nightmare, she pulled me in

January followed that December. Cold followed me everywhere afterwards

Killing me

Leaving became the only option

***

Months later

New city, new job, new studies

Old friends and roommate

Peaceful return. At first

Quietly stepping over my boundaries. He kept pushing

Rest was not an option anymore. It started to feel like abuse

***

Spiralling up and down following the cortisol waves

Talking became challenging. Words were boomerangs that could only hurt me

Unique strengths and abilities I got from my teaching years

Valuable tools to pave my way back

Waving my old friends farewell. Forgiving her for my descent never reached hers

Xanthic, the colour of my path moving forward

***

Young, I stayed. Becoming an adult was stopped in the process

Zen with my past, I wonder about my future

Mental Health
Like

About the Creator

Jolyne

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.