Poets logo

Writing Takes Guts

Halftime Speech

By Mattie :)Published 9 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - September 2023
45
Writing Takes Guts
Photo by Robina Weermeijer on Unsplash

Writing takes a lot of guts

No matter how many times people scream free speech

That phase of logic is impossible with writing

No matter what you write

Someone will love it

And others will hate it

It happens to all of us

I will write out an entire post to share here

Yet I still feel butterflies in my chest

Worry if this piece of literature will be considered presentable

Most of the time it's pretty ok

Not great by any means

Yet still ok

And worth posting

None the less the butterflies return

Keeping us from just pressing submit

And crossing our fingers

It doesn't really matter if you write well

I mean obviously it does

Twilight

Cough

Fifty shades of Gray

Cough Cough

What I mean is if you're a best seller or not

Some will like it and others won't

And that is fine

What we have to do is find the courage within ourselves to express ourselves

Put it out there and show up

Someone will probably hate it

They may even contact a mod or even congress and try to cancel you

You still have to write that story and get it posted

Cause your writing deserves to be read

You must put yourself out there and shine like a full moon

Thank you so much to everyone for reading my posts. As my rant above already stats I still get so scared to write and submit. Yet I'm doing this! Writing has really helped me promote myself. I'm grateful to everyone who reads and helps motivate me to do it again and again. I'm going to submit this now before the butterflies return. I promise I will share more fiction soon. I'm going to slay that dragon too! Until next time take care friends and always be creative!

love poemsinspirationalart
45

About the Creator

Mattie :)

I'm a 29 year old curious and creative soul. Spread love like a wildfire.#NonBinary #Christian #WellsFiction

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Sian N. Clutton9 months ago

    This is true for a lot of us, I imagine. It certainly hit close to home for me.

  • ThatWriterWoman9 months ago

    What I love about writing little stories is that they don't always have to be 'profound', they can be fun too! There's such a correlation between 'perfection' and being taken seriously as a writer. Thanks for writing this and well done on you well-deserved top story!

  • Trista Harrison9 months ago

    Great work! I feel like it captures the nervousness of all creators with their work and their desire to be seen and heard

  • Paige Garth9 months ago

    Love this, and so true!

  • Margaret Brennan9 months ago

    How very true. There is a member in my family that asked why I, if I'm writing about part of my life, do I sometimes change the names. Another member of my family said if I write about an incident to please change part of it, especially the names so no one would recognize him. Sometimes, you just can't win.

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh9 months ago

    Love that last line! We all could use this encouragement, especially when our writing feels more half-moonish or even when things go dark. Thank you for sharing!

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    Captivating and highly motivational. Great work! Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Yes, indeed, but it would also make you want to write more ✍️… 📝🫶🏾😊 Well Said ‼️‼️‼️ Congratulations on your Awesome Top Story🎊🎊🎊🎊🎉🎉🎉🎉🎉🌈

  • Wonderful wonderful piece! And congratulations this is wonderful 😊

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Boldly expressed!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Kendall Defoe 9 months ago

    Yup, definitely TS!

  • Real Poetic9 months ago

    Congratulations 🎉

  • Chloe9 months ago

    Yea! This is true! You can’t please everyone. Somebody’s going to find what you say offensive. But other people (like me) will enjoy it! I get the butterfly feeling sometimes, too! Congratulations on this well-deserved pick.

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Your poem represents so much to each of us. It was a pep talk for me. Reminding us all to keep going, keep reaching, keep creating. Well done!

  • Brenton F9 months ago

    It's easy to say but don't give a second thought to what anyone says, thinks or does - do it for yourself! Looking forward to more.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.