Poets logo

Writing Poems Using Only the Letters in Australia 🇦🇺

Impossible Poetry #3

By Chloe GilholyPublished 8 months ago • 2 min read
Like
Writing Poems Using Only the Letters in Australia 🇦🇺
Photo by Joey Csunyo on Unsplash

After struggling and having a mind block on some of the poetry challenges I set for myself, I am back with some more experiments following my Impossible Poetry Challenge. This time I am only using the letters that are present in Australia. This challenge is stating to make me think of a previous poetry challenge Vocal staff put out where you had to write a poem but the words could only be word letters or less. They’ve just published another poetry challenge that has to rhyme. I will do that one at some point, I think.

Rules

  • No AI. AI would be pretty pointless as at the moment, AI dosen’t have the grasp of certain word prompts And would try to send me generic sonnets with letters I am not able to use.
  • If I can’t get anywhere with one poetry form within 15 minutes, I need to go onto the next poetry form. I decided to make this one a bit more kinder for myself. Somebody told me if I set myself more time, I could have been able to write a sonnet using only palindrones like I saw some on the internet. I think I will still attempt it again at some point.
  • Allowed letters: A I L R S T U
  • Disallowed letters: B C D E F G H J K M N O P Q V U X Y Z

I tried something I didn’t really do much on the last challenge, I went on a site called Word Maker which gives me a list of words I can make using the letters in Australia. There were way more than I thought, but also some words that I did not know. So I am feeling a lot more confident in tackling some more poetry forms.

These are fairy short. I did a lot of swimming at the weekend, which was a lot of fun but also tiring. I was so tired with the sonnet, I ended up falling asleep.

Haiku

Sir Salariat

Rust is art as it is lust

Alters tiaras

Acrostic

Alit a rat’s tail

Rust’s aria

I as a ritual

As Asia lust trails us…

Free Verse

Australia as a star

at Laura’s altar

A ritual art

A salariat art

A rat’s slur is art

It is a start.

Sonnet

Lustra is a rat’s salariat air

Saul’s aura stirs salt as a Sural stair

Alas, as a rat, salt stirs a rat’s lair

Tsar Saul‘s star, Laura lasts as la la air

🇦🇺

Ritual is a liar rat tail’s art

Saul‘s slur stirs salt as a Sural salt star

Alas, as a rat, rust stirs a rat’s art

Tsar Saul’s lust lasts as a tarsal altar

🇦🇺

Austral talaria is a rat’s air

Saul‘s atlas stirs salt as a Sural stair

Alas, as a rat, lust stirs a rat’s lair

Tsar Saul’s rust lasts as la la la la air

🇦🇺

Alas; ultra slur as Tsar Saul’s rust lasts

Alas; ultra salt as Tsar Saul’s lust lasts

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.