Poets logo

Writing Keeps Me Sane

An ode to the peace of writing

By Joe PattersonPublished 20 days ago 1 min read
Writing Keeps Me Sane
Photo by kazuend on Unsplash

Writing keeps me sane. Know what I do with my time? I write all day to keep from losing my mind.

Talk about a home. My pen and pad are the best place for me to rest. Literature is my nest.

Writing keeps me sane. It’s a must that I document the tales of life. If I don’t write once a day then I’ve failed at life.

Crazy I know it seems. Written words on the pages of life are my favorite hit of dopamine.

Writing keeps me sane. When the outside world spins my head my pen is led to the paper to spin my lead with thoughts that fill my head.

Planet earth has a way of driving me crazy, but Mother Earth is my second love. My writing will always be my first baby.

Writing keeps me sane. When intrusive thoughts tell me I can’t hack it, writing becomes a mentally comforting straight jacket.

I don’t wanna leave that padded room of paper. The words on it are all that matters to me the rest is vapor.

Writing keeps me sane. The words fill my head. If I wasn’t a gifted writer then I might be dead.

Maybe won’t die without it, but I won’t lie about it. Writing is my wings and I won’t fly without it.

From the blood in my veins to the cells in my brains. It’s not a mental chain. My writing keeps me sane.

Odesocial commentaryslam poetryMental Healthlove poemsinspirational

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • real Jema19 days ago

    It’s clear that your pen and paper are your true sanctuary. Brilliant work

  • ‘ Maybe won’t die without it, but I won’t lie about it. Writing is my wings and I won’t fly without it.’ Well said… glad writing keeps you sane🙂

  • This was so deep and relatable. Loved your poem!

  • Rowan Finley 20 days ago

    Great job! 👏

Joe PattersonWritten by Joe Patterson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.