Poets logo

Writing Emails

How many people have we called "Dear" ?

By Alessandra VenturaPublished 2 months ago 2 min read
3

It’s a mundane thing, writing emails.

I’m so familiar with their anatomy,

Subject line, Greeting, Body, and Closing,

that I could operate with my eyes closed.

Today alone, 96 notifications from Gmail.

And I’ll admit it was amusing,

watching Amazon, Etsy, and Uber.

All vie for my attention.

I wonder if they’re ever curious

about the people they write to.

After all, they start all their emails with “Dear”

as if we’re long-lost lovers.

Dear Alessandra, Your password has been successfully changed…

Dear Alessandra, The following is an alert based on…

Dear Alessandra, I hope this email finds you well…

Dear Alessandra, Thank you for…

Dear Alessandra…

Have I ever been dear to anyone?

Not out of a sense of duty,

like a familial kind of love.

But in the way that the Earth rejoices

when she shares a kiss with the rain.

From a drizzle to a downpour to a torrent,

the proof of their passion is all around us.

In the way that,

for a few fleeting seconds at dusk and dawn

the sun serenades the moon with an aubade

as they briefly share a sky.

I used to believe,

that I’d never be Dear to anyone,

except for solicitors

and health insurance companies.

And then I think of all the people

that the past year has turned into friends.

And of all the friends

that have turned to family and even more.

Bonding over trips to bookstores and bars.

Moments memorialized through Polaroids.

Topped with a pearl on my ring finger,

I’ve never been more surrounded by love.

But the best part is

I know with every fiber of my being,

that they would all start their emails

with Dear Alessandra

and mean it.

Gratitudelove poemsinspirationalFriendshipFree VerseFamily
3

About the Creator

Alessandra Ventura

An English major & former film student, I just want to write like I’m running out of time :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 months ago

    Oooo, this made me think a lot! I loved the ending of your poem!

  • Manisha Dhalani2 months ago

    Good one!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.