Poets logo

Writers Feelings

Why do I even bother trying?

By Jason Ray Morton Published about a year ago 1 min read
Writers Feelings
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

They've been very complimentary

proving to some to be more than satisfactory

And still not even a mention

Instead of getting hopes up, I should exercise caution

Over 2 years and so many attempts

My creative juices often end up spent

And still not even a mention

Why didn't I stick to my decision

Why put up the effort for not so much as an "attaboy"

Especially seeing something fun end up with no joy

And still not even a mention

Is it because of the more than fifty with no attention

The death of a dream, where ideas rot

Every bit of effort in a land that time forgot

And still not even a mention

I guess I don't qualify under some stipulation

Get up and walk away

Resist the urge to come back one day

There'll never be a mention

Amid constant failure and repeated rejection

sad poetry

About the Creator

Jason Ray Morton

I have always enjoyed writing and exploring new ideas, new beliefs, and the dreams that rattle around inside my head. I have enjoyed the current state of science, human progress, fantasy and existence and write about them when I can.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Solina Silverfireabout a year ago

    The thoughts of nearly every writer. Follow your heart and fulfill your passions. *hugs*

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    Boy, I feel this one.

Jason Ray Morton Written by Jason Ray Morton

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.