Poets logo

Dear Vocal, I Can't Take You Seriously Anymore

A writing poem

By Jason Ray Morton Published about a year ago 1 min read
8
Dear Vocal, I Can't Take You Seriously Anymore
Photo by Patrick Fore on Unsplash

I remember way back when,

then again,

it wasn't all that long ago,

that I decided to give writing on Vocal a go.

I wrote that first story and then another,

and initially wondered if I should even bother.

You advertised what the financial benefits were

but I, like many, probably didn't see those small-print words.

Ahhhhh...the challenges, what fun they've been,

paying $9.99 a month to be told I'm no good yet again.

But I kept looking back, to those earliest days,

looking back at results even I said "No Way."

A thousand a weekend, two thousand in a week,

so happy I'd found you that I let out an excited shriek.

Just like that, things died off, and the dying hasn't stopped,

as now here we are and your business appears popped.

If seen your membership dying off,

and saying Vocal to some get's a scoff.

Creatd's stock forever in spiral,

and no matter what, writers on vocal will never go viral.

Your Vocal staff does nothing to help, or even point in a direction,

and it's caused many a writer's exodus and defections.

Your challenges are biased, and don't give everyone a chance,

and writing on Vocal is just a royal kick in the pants.

Good luck with those worthless shares,

as it's apparent that nobody on your side cares,

because there was much that you could have done,

as the answer to getting more members was to make sure everyone has fun.

When a company posts that it offers an opportunity to get noticed and monetize their efforts,

and the biggest majority can barely pinch out 12 dollars a year,

you'll likely one day wish that you'd lent us, the writers, your ear.

performance poetryslam poetry
8

About the Creator

Jason Ray Morton

I have always enjoyed writing and exploring new ideas, new beliefs, and the dreams that rattle around inside my head. I have enjoyed the current state of science, human progress, fantasy and existence and write about them when I can.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Loryne Andaweyabout a year ago

    Thanks for posting this. I heard from writers who were on this platform that is used to be good, or at least more lucrative. I wandered into Vocal in February 2021 knowing that it will not give me the traffic I would need to life off of. I see it as a place to practice my writing and receive feedback. Whatever comes of it is a bonus. Though, I did take a look at Creatd's stock, their prospectus and their 8ks available back in 2021 and wondered how they managed to pay readers and reward Challenge winners. Any company that states in their prospectus that their main use of investment growth will be put towards acquiring new businesses or paying down debt is a red flag. Creatd has no product of its own that anyone is buying save a promise to be recognized as the creators we are. I'll still use Vocal until I am able to see who is subscribed to me or until I find out they've been using our writing to generate an AI writing brain to sell to another company. Until then, Vocal will stay a tool for my own playful purposes.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.