Poets logo

Wrecked đŸ’„đŸš™đŸ˜„

Everything was fine
until it wasn’t

By Mya FrancisPublished 2 years ago ‱ 2 min read
1
Wrecked đŸ’„đŸš™đŸ˜„
Photo by Baptista Ime James on Unsplash

I worked so hard to get to this moment I had excitement bursting through my body with enjoyment.

“I got me a NEW CAR! It’s not the one I wanted, but the one I needed” Is what I said and thought.

I never realized the world of driving could almost make my heart stop.

Happiness turned to sadness like a snap of a finger.

Fear, weary, and pain now lingers.

Wondering what I did wrong or a better route I could’ve went drove me insane at night after I first got hit.

“But it wasn’t my fault, I did everything right” are the words I kept saying over and over in my head that night.

I didn’t want to ask Yahweh “Why”? Because I knew that wasn’t right

But I just couldn’t fathom what lesson I was supposed to learn from this night.

“Am I Supposed to be working this job?” “Is this the route I should’ve taken?” “Was there a Stop sign I missed and am I the one mistaken?”

The memories kept playing on repeat in my head like an annoying show.

I told myself I would move forward and just let it go.

As I’m feeling better and comfortable about the situation, a hit from behind me knocks out all my concentration.

My heart dropped to my feet and I was completely in shock by the U-Haul truck that came crashing through my thoughts.

My adrenaline and emotions were high, I was rushing to get to work and had to think on the fly.

My first instinct was to check my car and not myself, which is ironic since I always say my health is my wealth.

Once I saw the car was fine, I didn’t waste anymore time.

I put the pedal to metal to get to work like my life was in the line. Not realizing if that hit had of been harder, I could’ve died.

As the day goes on, I’m in relief but my back and wrist were in disbelief.

The pain grew sore and stronger by the hour, I put on a brave face for work to avoid the chatter.

As soon as I got home, I collapsed in the bed.

I felt stupid and defeated for not thinking with my head.

Still never asked “Why?” Because it would only make things worse.

I know my car is important and that the condition should be checked, but I promise to myself I’m gonna put my health first and think with my head the next time I get wrecked.

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Mya Francis

Hello to all my viewers, I have created this platform to share my life experiences of love, self care, growth, and spirituality. I hope you enjoy reading my poems as I continue my journey until the end.

One love

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mysticbloom💐2 years ago

    💐 Health is wealth, I hope you never have to expierence a harmful wreck again. What I got from this is how true it is that the world sometimes compells are focus as if we're robots inslaved. It's most important we stand clear of a worldly tunnel vision while on our journey here. There's far more beauty of life waiting. Enjoy your naturistic views while on your way to work to avoid feeling machanically driven. I don't know you but I'm relieved to read you survived. Stay safe in YahwehđŸŒčđŸ€

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.