Poets logo

Wow

Bait And Switch

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
Wow
Photo by Tech Nick on Unsplash

i sit in a room with the man said he’d love me

even with the cost of my bags

but when I talk, he says, shhh, the tv

asks bout my day and goes out for a drag

on his cell from the time he gets back from work

yaks at me and the dog like a jerk

tho I help with his boy, he had, when we were wed

not the item he once was, when we met

a sigh can’t even show the ugh that I feel

time in a day drag like a rod with no reel

I need a new way to get him out of my hair

plan a spa day, for some much need of care

slam poetry

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Margaret Brennan11 months ago

    we all go through things similiar. with mine, I'm never right even when proven I am. very frustrating but now, he's show signs of dementia so now, no matter what, he'll always be right. can't argue with someone who can't remember.

  • See, this is why we should stay single and do whatever we want, lol. Awesome poem!

  • I'm looking for some way to get her back into my hair. (Though a spa day is always good.)

  • J. S. Wade11 months ago

    Makes me think of that song from South Pacific. “I’m Going To Wash That Man Right Out of My Hair”.

  • Poppy 11 months ago

    I love this. Think it accurately describes a lot of relationships

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Magnificent!!! Loving the last line, the plan spa day is definitely necessary!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Spa day me Too 😉❤️💛💖

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh11 months ago

    "time in a day drag like a rod with no reel"- awesome metaphor!

Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenWritten by Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.