Poets logo

Worthy Only Jar

I told you I was broken

By Robin EdwardsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

Worthy Only Jar

So now you want to feel betrayed

after all that YOU have done

and point your finger right at me

like I am the one

That left you all alone

in quiet misery

But that was exactly

what you did to me

And when I cried unceasingly

begging you to care

You cruelly turned your back on me

with unfeeling, selfish flair

Your face was filled with bitterness

your eyes were hard and cold

as you ranted when I sobbed

and watched my pain unfold

I told you I was broken

that I didn’t want to live

But you chose to say “so what”

and belittled me instead

I watched you do for others

what you wouldn’t do for me

giving them what they ask for

But you never let them see

What a cold heart you have

how demeaning you can be

to someone that you broke

and labeled as unworthy

After years of still believing

what a good man you are

I finally saw you kept your love

in a “Worthy Only” jar

Worthy only for the ones

that you are trying to impress

leaving me feeling left out

but you couldn’t have cared less

But what you failed to see

the ones you tossed away

are the ones who cared the most

at the end of the day

So many faces

so many long lost friends

But your “Worthy Only” jar was full

and we no longer fit within

I no longer care to try

to find my way back in

trapped inside your Worthy Jar

I’m happy where I am

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Robin Edwards

Robin is a veteran, having proudly served in the United States Air Force. She worked as a speech therapist for several years before retiring. She enjoys writing, working on art, and margaritas!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.