Poets logo

Worth A Second Chance?

A fictional poetry story of someone with a not-so-good life, contimplating their choices at the end.

By Mohammed DarasiPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Thomas Wolter, Pixabay

Clashing, crashing, the soul it baits
Alive and awake at the pearly gates
Wondering
What happened with my life
Stumbling
Across others waiting for their fates
Humbling
-
Living life, thoughtless vices on my mind running
Shackles on my demons never worked, gotta live cunning
Watching the queue moving up. How am I to speak
When I face my judgement later. Gotta be released
-
Did I live how I should, not sure, but I could
If I get a second chance, I know I gotta push
-
But reality got a hold of me
Constant desires surrounding me
Choking me
Its hard being good in this world
Gotta admit
From left to right swirled
Always conflict
-
Tried moving outta the neighbourhood
But it pulls me back
Like it’s got a bait and hook
Attached on my back
An easier life, can’t say black or white
But living in the grey provided for them and I
-
Learning the ways to make a living
Never knew I would take the living
Slowly it consumed my soul and blackened
To the point my mind died and mangled
My morality, integrity and honour
Personality changed, become a gunner
Can I really change if I get a chance?
Not sure
In life, I never had a chance
-
What makes it different now
Would I be different now
Second chance. I’m begging now
Would I really get it now?
Now facing judgement for my life
It gave me thought of strife
Not sure I will survive
Out there, with not a light
I close my eyes and then
Accept that I have sinned
I Probably won’t repent
So let it all just end

sad poetryinspirational

About the Creator

Mohammed Darasi

I write fiction, poetry and occasional articles about interesting topics. I recently created a website (just because) which I will be posting my writing in (among other things). it would be great if you check it out. https://mindpit.co.uk/

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

  • Abby Kay Mendoncaabout a year ago

    I loved the tone of this! Or maybe the rhythm, either way, I enjoyed reading it.

  • Aphoticabout a year ago

    Great poem and questions many of us probably have. Well done!

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Fantastic poem, Mohammed! I loved so many things about this - the message (so deep), the structure, the flow, the wonderful word choices. The ending was so powerful 🥺❤️ Amazing work!

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    I agree with Heather. The rhythm is very powerful and adds so much to the theme. And the theme is worthy of the effort you put into this, nice work Mohammed!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    This felt so much like performance poetry too. I could feel the rhythm carrying it and raising the thoughts and momentum. And reality is really good at changing intentions and forcing us to compromise. Well done :)

Mohammed DarasiWritten by Mohammed Darasi

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.