Poets logo

Worst Friend Ever

Forgiving Yourself

By Earl W. PearlPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Top Story - April 2023
36

When I need uplifting you’re tearing me down

If I need a lifeline you’re letting me drown

When I need a hand you keep pulling away

If we need to talk you respond, “Not today”

When angry at me you start calling me names

The friendship we had somehow went up in flames

I won’t allow others to say what you say

So why let myself talk to myself that way

I look in the mirror and hate what I see

We’re not even friends so stop talking to me

inspirational
36

About the Creator

Earl W. Pearl

I’ve been writing poetry (rhyming mostly) since about 2014 and have recently transitioned to writing novels and short stories. My poetry genres are faith, humor, social issues, politics, pretty much any subject matter.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    There was just so much depth to this! Such an emotional poem! Congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Dana Crandellabout a year ago

    Powerful! Congratulations on Top Story!

  • L.C. Schäferabout a year ago

    Oof. "We're not even friends so stop talking to me" - that hit pretty hard.

  • ARCabout a year ago

    Wow, Earl this is an amazingly-accurate depiction of the shadow/inner roommate. Love your raw honesty in this. Thank you for sharing this part of yourself with us. Beautiful.

  • JBazabout a year ago

    Congratulations, well done

  • Congratulations 🎉 💖✨✨

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    Well done! Very good piece!

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdenabout a year ago

    This hit me hard, great work. Congrats on the top story

  • Serenity Nyxabout a year ago

    Love this

  • Melissa Ingoldsbyabout a year ago

    🥲so sad, my heart feels it! Congratulations on top story!

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Excellent piece. Congrats on the top story.

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    Amazing as always, Earl! So excited to see you in top stories- you certainly deserve it!!! 💫

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Woah! that was pretty deep. Loved it!

  • Nice job ❤️💯📝✨👣

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.