Poets logo

Worship

Born of you

By Sukie HarperPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Worship
Photo by Pavel Nekoranec on Unsplash

Forgive me, I did not mean to go against you and to love another.

I wanted only feel your embrace and hold your heart with mine.

Yet now, I sit in worship of the false idol I created of you.

Basking in it’s vision, I lost word of your truth.

You’ve never led me astray with your acts, but with my thoughts, I wander.

I create entire worlds in which we live in blissful ignorance.

Our garden is full of plastic flowers and weeds that will not stop growing, no matter how many I pluck.

It is a Eden of dreams from which I’ve never wanted to awaken, and a nightmare from which I can never leave.

And so I hold fast, weaving tapestries of grand events that will never take place.

I announce tales of your love and bravery in the face of hardship, while you do no more than lay in my bed.

You own no fault in the selling of my soul to a man that’s never existed past the tears that brim my eyes.

Never, have you written epics of our love, nor how it will cross the stars,

But in my heart I believed you would, if only given the proper time.

Can you fault me for loving this man, having been so crafted from the heavens and the earth of my own soul.

Forgive me,

I did not mean to commit this idolatry against you,

But please, understand that he was made in your image, and I lost sight.

heartbreaklove poemssad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Sukie Harper

I like to put pieces of myself into my writing. Sometimes it's a finger, sometimes a toe, but it's always something that gets stuck to the roof of your mouth and leaves a lingering feel in your gut.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.