Poets logo

Worlds

Days of future past

By MICHAEL ROSS AULTPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

I miss the worlds of my youth

The verdant green and sudden violence of the jungle where the city of Opar beckoned; its gold and gems dust beneath an apeman’s feet.

The skies full of thread and dragons on Pern where the Dragons picked their riders and spread flame through the clouds and the children of star voyagers reclaim their destiny.

The dark green mountains and forests of Darkover where what you were inside was brought forth by crystal for good or bad.

Witch World were past and future walked side by side and other dimensions called softly. Were your spirit was called to the west like in the song.

Worlds of the time trails were Baldies reined and time agents fought for our future and past and rode the great globe ships guided by magnetic wire.

Barsoom where they dying remnants of greatness cling to life and the power of your sword arm and earth bred muscles could win a throne and a princess.

Worlds that taught me wonder, worlds that taught me to look deeper than just the surface of people, worlds that taught me the value of good friends and stalwart companions.

I miss the worlds of my youth.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

MICHAEL ROSS AULT

I began writing at age 13. Short stories, novellas, poetry, and essays. I did journals while at sea on submarines. I wrote technical books for a decade before I went back to fiction. I love writing, photography, wood working, blacksmithing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.