Poets logo

Working on it

trying to make a relationship work

By Jemima GordonPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Like

Nothing matters because we get along well

But passing time together sometimes feels like hell

I know when it’s real

I know when it’s not

I can’t force it but I want to fix it

You feel uncomfortable and don’t want my cuddles

You’re scared of how I’ll react

which is so fair enough because I can’t hold back

My emotions are still a free spirit

Despite my attempts to control through logic and limitation of my expectations

I feel my heart slowly caving in

I don’t know what to say or how to begin

I didn’t feel like I wasn’t there for you

Nor did I realise my emotional intensity

I don’t really know what changed

Or why it feels like too much

I can’t help but want to clutch

You in my arms

But I can’t make you feel calm

It is fine but at the same time it isn’t

My eyes burn trying to look through this emotional blizzard

Reanalysing what this dynamic is

So it doesn’t quite always feel this climatic

Movies are nice but the itch of the lice in my brain

Brings me more pain than I can take

I make you sad

You can’t always express that

In fact, you’re not always yourself

I miss the closeness we’ve both felt

I’ve never experienced such regret

But at the time I didn’t know how to let

You know so I just ended up letting myself blow

The fuck up

We’ve both fucked up

My mind won’t shut up

Because I just want to make it better

How can you let me in?

And if you don’t?

I guess that’s okay but you’re the only one that knows me fully

Is this healthy

Will listening to your feelings make you want me in the way I want you?

To crave this connection

Did I mention, I love you?

sad poetryheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Jemima Gordon

i write poems to release all the emotions flowing around in my brain... it's not a choice really. most forcus on my circular anxious feelings, allowing me to understand myself deeper and move on quicker

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.