Poets logo

Worker Boy!

A Diddy About my Day Job

By AmbroseVoxPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

I’m one of those trodden townie truckers,

just another poor sun-kissed sucker,

chasin’ after my wimpy weekly wage,

as it gets me out of my rusty iron cage.

I can do it all,

I’m at your beck n’ call;

wood, metal, lawns, and bricks,

I’ll keep workin’ till it’s six.

If you need some roofing,

send me up a ladder hoofing,

missing all important dates

while I’m stripping scattered slates.

I’m a grueling gravel grader grating

spending all his time heated, hissing, hating,

as your mewling nitpicking starts getting on my nerves;

I’m only painting pompous places cause’ it serves.

I’m nothing but a lazy ditch digger

who is lacking any vigor

heat-stroking with the hammer-blow

a temperamental tamper hardly making any dough.

I’ve got sweat clinging to my brow,

chugging water while I’m begging for some chow,

beaten by a barking boss underneath the sun,

while I wait for the five o’clock freedom that I’ve won.

I’m a wearied worn weakened worker boy

who said goodbye to all his happiness and joy

wondering if it’s still really strange

to keep waiting for a change.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

AmbroseVox

Creative writing is an opportunity to set goals and challenges for yourself; it is the joy of the whole experience for me!

I publish work across several platforms, join my Discord server if you want to find more: https://discord.gg/EXD6eYCP

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.