Poets logo

Word Hunger

Nom-Nom Lexicon. A short poem on tasty terms.

By Addison MPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
7

I possess a verbose lexicon

Or at least this I've been told

Scouring endless pages until new terms take hold

Senses set alight by the discovery of something new

Synapses dance in rapture with new dialects consumed

-=-

A vivid voracious vortex consuming others' works

Delicious diatribes and diets I hunger for more words!

The new, arcane, or esoteric speaks directly to my mind

Without provocation my mouth yells

"Hey Google please define!"

-=-

Catarct, consternation, calamity, and ire!

Delectable definitions that placate my desire

Panacea, pernicious, platitudes these words they are but food!

Profanities are tasty,

Although others would say crude

-=-

The buffet of all cultures does not in a kitchen dwell,

But deep within all language and kept upon bookshelves

If you're hungry for more knowledge no further must you look,

Get off that thrice hexed phone of yours and open up a book!

-=-

Authors Note: Read a book. Simple as that.

Hope you enjoyed this little mental deluge as I continue to purport to be a poet.

Cheers,

humorinspirational
7

About the Creator

Addison M

Artist & writer although, those may be potent terms for what I concoct. A spirited creator may be more apt. Spreading my particular brand of insanity through myriad stories and mediums. Learning the ways of the written word along the road.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Angie the Archivist 📚🪶5 months ago

    Delightful dish of words… thanks.✅ I still reach for the dictionary (being an avid reader and having celebrated many birthdays…)… therefore, not quite so addicted to my phone… sadly I have other vice😵‍💫🥹

  • God I loved this so much! Your words rendered me speechless!

  • Alivia Varvel8 months ago

    Is it okay if I stay on my phone as long as I’m reading stuff like this? 😆 Seriously though, this is very well done!

  • Keep pretending to be a poet!!!! You are very very good at the charade 😉

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    🤣🤣 this was so entertaining!! Gonna get off my thrice hexed phone now haha

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.