Poets logo

Wonder

A Pondering Poem

By Samantha De YarmanPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Wonder
Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

I often wonder

were I alive in the 60s

(or 70s)

if I would be on the streets

when there were protests

(and riots)

for civil liberties

and

I don’t think I would

because

That’s not who I am.

No.

What I would do

is

watch your children so you could go

make signs with you

for you

feed as many as were hungry

give up my bed for the night

so someone else

could finally have a place to sleep

heal as many

injuries

as I could

physical or not.

Now

I often wonder

if I lived in a city

in a place where there were protests

and marches

and police violence

and civil unrest

if I had the opportunity

would I protest?

Would I march?

Would I join the riots?

Probably not.

No.

I would

watch your kids

keep them safe

so you could join.

I would

make signs

for you

with you.

I would have an open home

with food for the hungry

laughter for the sad

healing for the broken

rest for the restless.

I would

hug

kiss

feed

soothe

heal

love

all who needed it

no matter their race

color

beliefs

orientation.

I would tell everyone

of the hope I’ve found

and never turn a single person away.

I would speak truth

speak life;

I would be kind

in a world full of hate and death and lies

because that

is who I am.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Samantha De Yarman

They’re just words

I’m arranging in an order

And yet somehow

Nothing else is harder.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.