Poets logo

Women's Trouble

Hysteroscopy and DNC

By Denise E LindquistPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
3
Women's Trouble
Photo by National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

Histeroscopy and DNC is the procedure of the day

is what they had to say,

and it is not free.

It happened twice to me

I was bitter and unhappy those days, you see

It may happen again, said the gynecologist

I will be ready with a proper tool and a guest

next time.

Is it really necessary I chime,

I'm being advised to have a hysterectomy

what do you think of that for me?

You are on blood thinners and that makes it a bigger risk

than for someone else, it feels irresponsible to me tsk tsk.

A second opinion is called for, as I fear

Cancer, even though the chances are low, why once a year?

Cancer stopped my menses at fifty nine and a half.

My gynecologist at the time said there are not many

that will bleed into their sixties on my watch, really not any.

You will be the first. My body fooled her, the chemotherapy

took that possibility away

forever, until today.

I bleed heavy one day and spot another

it isn't fun for me or for any other.

The procedure makes me bleed for a few weeks time

so there is bleeding before and bleeding after, it's such a crime.

So take it out I want to shout.

I feel like I have no clout.

Yes you do my primary doctor said, and we will write a referral right now

for another opinion from another provider that we find somehow.

Women's trouble is what I used to hear whispered when I was a young woman

I often wondered what the whispering was all about. I had ugly menses cycles, that almost any man

could not stand,

nobody wanted to talk about that or the emotions that would go along with all of that and,

in my house my daughter and I cycled together and the men in the house would keep their voices low and they would not be around much.

Strong women in my house made this a monthly time for such

My daughter didn't mind having a hysterectomy at all and let

me know she thinks I should do it too, and said she doesn't regret it yet.

Because she is an RN, and works with elderly,

She says that they have surgery and are on blood thinners so she thinks it would be

good for me to do it also.

I decided a long time ago to not whisper or say women's trouble, so

enough about that right now and I will report in when I get this all

figured out, but first it is time to fully recuperate and get through the fall.

social commentary
3

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.