Poets logo

Women Are Not Ladies

Ladies are overrated. Women, they're underrated.

By Incipient PoetPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

My whole life I have been told to be lady like.

Don't act like a man,

don't talk with your mouth full,

don't intimidate a man.

Don't stand up for yourself,

wait for a man to fight your battles.

Sit with your legs crossed,

be proper and prim,

don't be bold or say what's on your mind.

Following these intructions has led to a world of pain.

I am telling you,

being a lady is overrated.

Being a woman, that's underrated.

Being a woman is not being quiet.

It is not doing what you can to keep the peace.

Being a woman is being a force of nature.

You don't go with the waves,

you ride them to your destination,

No matter who is or isn't around,

you do what you have to strive for what you deserve.

A woman is an earthquake to those who fear her,

shaking there world.

Weak men fear a strong woman,

So they ask us to be a lady.

They fear women on the rise.

So do not underestimate us women

because I am not a princess

I'm a warrior

I don't sit on a throne of flowers,

I climb to the top of my empire

of which I have built alone

out of the sticks and stones cast at me

as I was struggling to stand or even breathe

they threw them down

and they tried to bury me

but do men not understand the power a woman carries?

You push a woman down,

you threaten her livelihood

You break her to the point where

the only option is to strive

because for a good woman,

defeat is never an option.

this is not a crown upon my head

it's a headdress created from

the trash you lead me to believe I was

remade anew into a beautiful design.

I am no damsel in distress although I may be stressed,

I am struggling because of my growth

and my growth will never end.

Why would I need anyone to save me

from the better version of me I could become?

I am not a doe,

fragile and startled at noises in the wood.

I am a lioness, fierce

bold and protective.

Women protect themselves and those they love.

Men should not fear a strong woman

that means he himself is not a strong man.

This world consists of many weak men.

That is why they try to objectify us.

Power and brains from a woman is a threat to their lifestyle.

The men who tried to put out my light were only afraid of the fire I would start

because the fire in which I burn will rise

rise higher than any building skyscraper or bird because the match that lights my fire is passion

and there is no end to which my passion burns.

Don't underestimate us women,

for we are not mermaids, but sirens.

The next time you try to silence me,

I'll remind you I am NO lady,

I am a woman, a masterpiece created originally for me to fulfill a purpose.

That purpose is not to make a man happy,

My purpose is to be a vicious free spirit Godess,

unstoppable, invisible, untouchable.

So please,

do not underestimate us women.

~blu

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Incipient Poet

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.