Poets logo

Woman of the Night

A Jack the Ripper Tale

By Marcus Alan PerkinsPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Woman of the Night
Photo by Michael D Beckwith on Unsplash

Creeping through the darkened night

looking for someone to enjoy the time,

the few specks of light flicker and shine from their mounted height

the cobblestone road is covered in lime.

A stranger stands up ahead that looks nice

her figure illuminated in the lanterns placed by.

Petite stature, large bust and thighs

I wonder if there’s a hotel nearby…

The wet stone under my feet makes a splash

drawing her eyes toward me and her mind spinning fast

I smile and tip my hat before rushing to her in a dash

her fear is set aside as she takes in who I am, at last.

I spend the night making my art

cutting the flesh from her bones.

I take the blade and bring out her heart

the woman was beautiful but had family or home.

A Prince of my time the world will remember

the name I was known by: Jack The Ripper.

* Did you enjoy this poem? Please tip so I may continue on this journey!

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Marcus Alan Perkins

I’m a father, published author, student, avid reader, husband, and advocate for equality for all. I am going to use this platform for my short stories and poems. Follow me on Facebook: @Author.MarcusPerkins, Twitter handle: @AMarcusperkins

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.