Poets logo

Without You

The World is Colorless

By Kaede feyPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1
Without You
Photo by Geran de Klerk on Unsplash

The days seem longer, and the nights more colder.

Ever since you left, nothing has been the same.

I thought I was getting over you, by keeping myself busy.

I threw myself into work, managing the chaos of everyday paperwork.

But that didnt last long, because when the chaos finally settled.

Memories of the times we had together, came rushing back.

Like an ocean wave, slamming against the soft sand

Then it hit me, what I thought were beautiful colors had become grey and dark.

It was only then that I realized that you had become the color to my black and white world I had created.

I had not realized that you were my sun to my wilted flower.

A flower that started to die, because you left.

All happiness drained to nothing.

I had been stuck in a place that was causing me more harm than good.

It was our memories that saved me from that dark place.

It was in those memories that I had started to regain my strength.

For the longest time, I couldn't see that which was right

in front of me

I had forced myself to forget, because the pain was too much for me to bear all at once.

It was easier to pretend that I was happy.

Putting on a mask, with a smile on my face pretending that everything was Ok.

It wasnt…

I realized that a little too late.

There was a reason we parted the way we did.

Now that time has passed, now that we are little bit older

and a little more wiser.

Could things be different this time?

What was once a dark and cold night, has become a little more warmer. The snow has finally melted away, to reveal a beautiful spring morning.

The flowers have finally come back to life, with their beautiful colors and sweet fragrance in the air.

Hope has been restored, after years of despair.

There is hope in what we had, hope of a future together.

I finally see what I have been trying to hide.

What I had been blind too for so long.

It was you…

It was always you

You were my eyes to my blind world

You are the air I breathe, because without you I was suffocating

The way you smiled at me, would make my heart race faster.

Everytime I looked at you, I couldnt help but get butterflies

I was foolish in letting you go, because real happiness is overcoming all obstacles together.

Loving all your flaws, and appreciating your good efforts.

\ Building a foundation for a better future together.

Never giving up, and never losing hope.

You made me realize, that time can heal all wounds.

What never fades, is the way I feel about you.

The way I loved you when we were together, and the way I never stopped loving you when we were apart.

It made me appreciate you even more, and made my love for you even stronger.

You filled my life with such joy, and laughter that I would give anything to have that again.

Would you accept me back, after all my mistakes?

Would you give me the chance to make it right.

To start again, knowing what we know now.

Things will be different this time.

The sun will finally shine through the gloomy sky.

The flowers will no longer wilt

Laughter will ring in the air

Color will finally begin to appear in my black and white world

As long as your in it…

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Kaede fey

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • malik zahoor2 years ago

    Awesome poem

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.