Poets logo

Without You

A Haiku

By Allie BickertonPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
10
Without You
Photo by Kinga Cichewicz on Unsplash

Fragile was my smile

Inwardly expressing grief

For words not spoken

___________________________

Notes from the Author:

There are many folds of meaning in my poems. I’m often writing about my relationships. I could be referring to love, but could be referring to unconditional love for family members and romantic love at the same time.

I wrote this poem to describe my grief for a romantic opportunity never seized, while simultaneously thinking of my Grandmother I lost to brain cancer. I regretfully ruminate about being too shy to sing her the songs she used to sing to me, in front of family members that were present while she laid on her death bed.

Grief is a sharpness in the soul, a suffocating heaviness in the heart, and a yearning for memories well kept in the mind, whether they be real or fabricated. Grief does not care about the form that it comes in, and demands to be felt on its terms, not yours. For anyone grieving a loss, this one is for you…you are not alone.

___________________________

If you liked reading this, please feel free to show my page some love. Thanks, and have a lovely day! 🙂

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
10

About the Creator

Allie Bickerton

She / Her - Canada

I spent most of my life immersed in visual arts and I neglected my literacy.

Nurturing harboured emotions and poetic thoughts I’ve stashed within.

Thank you for being here! 💕

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor7 months ago

    Dear Ms. Allie - Although I don't know much about Haiku - 'Arigato' for yours - I'm just an old fashioned StoryTeller nothing more. But, I so enjoy your 'Original' style and gorgeous presentations among many of the new ways-to-write writer's among us. So glad I've discovered your work. Jay Jay Kantor, Chatsworth, California 'Senior' Vocal Author - Vocal Village Community -

  • Losing someone is a difficult thing to deal with, I am dealing with that at the moment (not a death but a friendship destroyed)

  • Joel Lippertabout a year ago

    There is no grief without love.

  • Linda Marryabout a year ago

    I love they way you express it, This was a joy to read, nice work.

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Wow, this one heck of an introspection and reflection on memories and life. You've got my subscription!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.