Poets logo

With Nothing More Than Sand

Sandcastles

By Margaret BrennanPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
1

I watched him work so feverishly,

Digging up the sand.

Imagination was his ruler.

It had only to command.

The hole he dug was three feet deep,

With sand hills piled around.

He shaped a little “sand” seat

In the wall just off the ground.

Next, he took the tapered pail,

And filled it to the brim.

Then with a swinging motion,

He pounded out the rim.

With seashells now around the base,

And a banner on the top,

He scraped the sand to form a door,

And said, “At last, I’ll stop!”

Then as a last decision,

With the shovel in his hand,

He carved his name for all to see

On his castle in the sand.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 76 year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • 𝐑𝐌 𝐒𝐭𝐨𝐜𝐤𝐭𝐨𝐧10 months ago

    I love this. Well done! (Subscribed)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.