Poets logo

The Last Song

I laughed and I sang

By Margaret BrennanPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
Like

We played in the park as children,

With nowhere special to go.

Our belly-laughs rang,

As we danced as we sang –

And oh! How I loved you so.

We walked down the aisle together.

We must have put on quite a show!

We drank the champagne.

As we laughed and we sang –

And oh! How I loved you so.

Our baby was born the next winter.

I felt my heart overflow.

I felt a sharp pang –

But I laughed and I sang.

And oh! How I loved you so.

But the cold of the winter still lingered.

As the spring’s sun melted the snow.

Though I laughed and I sang –

Your words were like fangs!

But oh! How I still loved you so.

Then we sat in the cold formal courtroom,

And I knew I must let you go.

While my eyes were a blur,

You sat there with her!

And oh God! How I still loved you so.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 77-year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.