Poets logo

With Great Loss, I Find Love

A Poem

By Kevin KlabonPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2
With Great Loss, I Find Love
Photo by Jarl Schmidt on Unsplash

An unexpected gift, In my womb she grows.

Nine months you stir, you kick, is it possible that you play?

I named you before I knew your face, Karliah Noelle, my sweet child.

I took so many pictures of our progress, as in my belly you grew.

Born Friday the sixth, 39 weeks and one whole day.

You weighed 8lbs 4oz. My goodness, you were 21 inches long.

At first, did I see, Oh, how incredibly beautiful to me!

You might say I was obsessed because I dreamed of pigtails and bows.

But then something changed, you became sick; what is a mother to do?

Feeling so helpless, your father and I held you ever so close.

We loved you like mad, yet we smiled, as so did you.

Hooked up to tubes, oxygen for you to breathe.

Oh, my precious angel, my princess, you left us so soon.

I love you baby please rest in peace!

My body aches, my mind is a hell, there's a hole in my chest that can not be filled.

I try to be happy, but I miss you more with each passing day.

Ashes in an urn to us you return, my baby Karliah, we love you for eternity.

But like all miracles, my belly grows again, a rainbow child is on its way.

Karliah, always our first, a tattoo upon our hearts, a big angel sister you will be.

I still mourn for you, I know you wouldn't want me to be sad, but I'm still waiting for you to return.

As the time nears, my excitement is clear, we are happy to announce we will be having another baby girl.

Karliah, we keep your spirit around and never stop thinking of you, for everything we do is for your sister and you.

It is 40 weeks, my due date today, my emotions are crazy you could say.

We are so excited to meet our rainbow baby, but in my belly, she seems so comfy.

World I introduce you to my beautiful little girl, sweet Ms. Renlee Noelle.

My best friend, a love that I desperately need.

Even in great loss, one can find love.

To my beautiful new child, I love you so, for, Renlee Noelle you rescued me.

And to my first, my angel child, Karliah Noelle, in my heart you will always be.

Because with great loss, I still find Love.

For my dear friend, Caitrin B.

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Kevin Klabon

I am an artist, a musician, an author, a poet, a magician of the written word.

I live no life without pen and paper, or a paintbrush in hand.

If you could share your love for what I love, I would love you to the moon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.