Poets logo

With a Wink and a Prayer

An across the room poem

By Julie LacksonenPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
11
Photo by Andrea Piacquadio from Pexels

No intention of falling in love.

I’m shy, apprehensive, unconfident,

Content with my own company.

Then, I caught a glimpse of you

Across the crowded social hall.

*

Not a regular.

I know them all, except you.

Not flashy, lofty, nor intimidating,

But inviting, smiling and warm,

Green eyes sparkling with humor and intellect.

*

Immediately smitten,

I did something so gutsy, so uncharacteristic…

I winked!

I felt my cheeks flush.

I couldn't believe my own gumption.

I prayed that you hadn't seen.

*

Horror of horrors,

Hope of hopes,

You winked back,

Sauntering in my direction.

I know I was awkward,

But you were patient.

Soon, my prayers regarding you

Changed to hopeful.

I was delighted that my latest prayers

Were answered.

love poems
11

About the Creator

Julie Lacksonen

Julie has been a music teacher at a public school in Arizona since 1987. She enjoys writing, reading, walking, swimming, and spending time with family.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.