Poets logo

Wishing Well

Wishing Well

By Cristina HectorPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
8
Wishing Well
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

Brick by brick, I was slowly built. Molded to the ground and firmly set in place. So much room, and yet I was nothing but empty space. I spent each morning gazing at a blissfully painted sky, longing to be the artist that made it come alive. Similarly, my nights consist of wishing upon the stars, that maybe one day I could be the one to shine through the dark. Honey has bees, leaves have trees, when will something ever need me? A well made of stone, hollow, and never ever whole. The well and I, we live side by side.

The concept of one’s life purpose has taken me a long time to fully wrap my head around. It’s something so personal to an individual’s development that it feels somewhat wrong to put it into words. However, if I had to say one thing, it’d be that every traumatic experience I’ve ever encountered contributed to filling up my well. Although this scared me at first, I quickly realized that holding this water, the pain of those around me, gave me the purpose I was always searching for. Being able to aid in grief is a gift, one that I will forever hold dear to me. The silly metaphor of an insignificant well has followed me all throughout my life and made me the person I am today. So, for what it’s worth, as badly as the water needed the well, the well needed the water 100 times more.

excerpts
8

About the Creator

Cristina Hector

Content Associate at Creatd

Live in the sunshine where you belong.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Helena Vasquez 2 years ago

    🌸 I liked it.

  • Lena Folkert2 years ago

    This is stunningly raw and beautiful. This is a - close my eyes and let it replay in my head - kind of piece. It resonated within me like the water that fills the well and makes it whole. As you recently said to me so graciously, I must say to you in return and honestly: "Keep writing, we love it. 💛"

  • Daphne Faye2 years ago

    This is a wonderful and evocative poem. Thank you so much for sharing it.

  • J. S. Wade2 years ago

    “Brick by brick I was slowly built.” A powerful imagery This is relatable to me, though my bricks are of a different clay and fire or maybe the some of the same. Thank you sharing. Beautifully written. 🥰

  • Beautifully written...and oh, so true. More, more!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.