Poets logo

Wishful Sinking

Confidence

By Rowan Finley Published about a month ago 1 min read
7
Photo taken by Vitaliy Mitrofanenko

Upside down, I fly with one foot attached to a metal hoop,

violin under chin,

I play, beginning again,

soaring with fire beneath my wings.

Spinning and spinning,

the crowd seems to be on the edge

of their seats in anticipation.

The hoop suddenly snaps with flames,

and my violin bow turns into an arrow,

and I throw it deep into a target center below.

The glow on her face was all I cared to see,

by her I wanted to be.

The hoop dissolved into ashes,

plummeting down into a soft, strong net,

that would catch my invigorated body.

surreal poetry
7

About the Creator

Rowan Finley

Father. Academic Advisor. Musician. Writer. Aspiring licensed mental health counselor. My real name is Jesse Balogh.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Lindsay Sfaraabout a month ago

    There's a lot to take in from this, and I loved the imagery. Wonderful writing, Rowan!

  • Colleen Waltersabout a month ago

    Wow! This is… such a cool visual and masterfully written. I really like this a lot 😊👍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.