Poets logo

Winter Trees

An Experiment in Personification of Nature

By Dana CrandellPublished 2 years ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
47
Winter Trees
Photo by Lester Hine on Unsplash

Brittle bones of countless, fragile fingers

Beckoning an all-too-distant sun

Bejeweled by the morning rain that lingers

Frozen, crystal clear upon each one

---

Stripped so recently of Autumn's glory,

Naked to the cruel, assailing wind,

They beg the gods to end the winter's story

And dress them in profusion once again.

***

Autho r's Note: This poem was something of a turning point for me. It was originally written long before Vocal existed, as a challenge to myself to write about the first thing I saw when I looked out my dining room window.

The idea was sparked by a contest I'd read about on a poetry site, and I entered it, which was something I'd never done with my poetry. It won the Editor's Choice award. There was no prize for that, but I was amazed it was chosen at all. I've written poetry for most of my life, but had never considered publishing it, online or otherwise. I've crossed the online threshold. I'm still considering the otherwise.

Thank you for reading my work!

nature poetry
47

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (24)

Sign in to comment
  • Amelia Moore7 months ago

    lovely. the personification works really well here, yeah, and it's an experiment that definitely payed off in your piece. nice!!

  • Sian N. Clutton7 months ago

    Beautiful work!

  • i like this story ,you can see my story clic here https://vocal.media/futurism/the-digital-revolution-q630n0unw

  • Gary Ragnarsson8 months ago

    This is absolutely beautiful. Pop it on a PDF document next to a beautiful ink drawing and sell signed prints… I’ll buy one right away

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    Wow. This is just beautiful, Dana. Well done.

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    What a great exercise to write what you see, and be able to put it into words!

  • KY9 months ago

    I love winter settings!

  • Rob Angeli9 months ago

    Crystalline beauty! Thank you.

  • Veronica Coldiron9 months ago

    Good LORD you're versatile! This is such a beautiful poem!

  • Sara Wilson9 months ago

    It's honestly beautiful.

  • Andrew Williams10 months ago

    Love this read❤️

  • Kim Loostrom10 months ago

    This is lovely! Nature is one of the best muses, there is always something that can inspire, well done!

  • Pauline Fountain10 months ago

    I have dropped in to get my ‘whenever I can’ dose of Dana. Now sated as I again read and ponder. Enveloped in your nature poetry words: ‘Bejeweled by the morning rain that lingers Frozen, crystal clear upon each one’ Pauline 🌸

  • Donna Fox (HKB)10 months ago

    Wow Dana, this was hauntingly beautiful! I am breath taken and literally sitting in awe of the mastery I am witnessing. I'll be returning to you page for more soon!

  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    The iambic rhythm here is so perfect, especially in the last stanza. It’s such a satisfying read, I had to reread it to get the full impression. Love when poems demand a second look like this. Great job! 👏

  • C. H. Richard11 months ago

    Taking a minute with the last line, which echoes such tranquility. Love it ❤️

  • Roy Stevens11 months ago

    That's beautiful Dana, though I'd rather like to think the trees are enjoying their rest. According to Suzanne Simard's research we might just be able to ask them someday- that would be pretty cool. I really like your use of consonance; it seems to be underused nowadays don't you think?

  • This painted an amazing picture. Great job with the structure and rhymes

  • Mr Blacky12 months ago

    nice

  • Test12 months ago

    A beautiful poem - Anneliese

  • Audrey Heitz12 months ago

    Just beautiful Dana! Now, whenever I see branches encased in ice (which I absolutely love) I'll remember your poem! ❄️🙂

  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    Nature poetry is my favorite. This is beautiful.

  • Lily Elleabout a year ago

    Very few poems I've read on here have stirred something in me, but this one did... Really very beautiful and gently piercing- my favorite kind of poem.

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    This is gorgeous! 😍 I felt the longing of the branches for the sun. The first line is stunning and so powerful! Well done :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.