Poets logo

Wings

A rare occurrence

By Rayn BPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
4
This poem is dedicated to my loved ones who were taken far too soon in a tragic accident.

Flying…

A common fear.

But is it really flight

That frightens us,

Or are we afraid

Of falling?

//

Crashing…

A rare occurrence

For airplanes.

An event that sparks

Headlines and

Vicarious horror.

//

Ringing…

A phone call

From our mother.

She is screaming,

Saying through sobs,

“It’s on the news.”

//

Typing…

A web search

Confirms the truth.

You always wanted

To be famous…

But not like this.

//

Dying…

A fate that

Awaits us all.

But I never would

Have guessed this

Is how you’d leave me.

//

Grieving…

A process

They promise will

Get better with time…

But I am running

Out of patience.

//

Trying…

I am doing it

Everyday.

But I can barely

Even look up

At the sky anymore.

//

Dreaming…

The only way

I see you now.

Here, we are safe,

Because here,

We have our own wings.

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
4

About the Creator

Rayn B

I have been writing poetry and lyrics since I was a child. I have recently started writing short scripts for “found footage” horror TikToks. I dream of writing books and full length screenplays. Thanks for being in this community with me!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    Sending you lots of love. 💓 💘💓

  • Timabout a year ago

    Heartbreaking and gorgeously worded. <3

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.