Poets logo

Winged Terrors

My irrational but totally rational fear

By Grace Gettys Published about a year ago 1 min read
3
Winged Terrors
Photo by Rúben Marques on Unsplash

A different type of fear awaits me.

It starts with a dark house with a guiding porch light,

where safety lies within, but not a moment before.

It has a sticky lock that routinely fails my key.

But once I am in, I’m safe from what is in the night.

//

I see them gathering from a distance.

The small specks of darkness crowd the glow

with unpredictable movements that I cannot follow.

Looking from afar gives me shivers about their existence,

But there is only so much about their kind I want to know.

//

The closer I get, the louder I hear beating wings.

I can imagine their bodies getting lost in my hair,

stuck underneath my clothes, lingering on my skin.

Once I reach the house, I can see the wall where each one clings.

As I fumble with the key, I send up a quick safety prayer.

//

Once inside, I looked back to make sure none snuck in.

My heartbeat was still pounding for I was full of dread.

I breathe a shaky sigh of relief, thankful I didn’t have an encounter.

Exhausted I make my way to bed, feeling goosebumps on my skin;

But just as I am about to drift to sleep, I feel a furry tickle on my head.

surreal poetrynature poetry
3

About the Creator

Grace Gettys

I am an avid storyteller that likes to write about anything that inspires me whether that comes from visiting the beach or blogging about what is on my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    Moths and their crazing movements are a bit scary! I liked the build up of suspense here.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.