Poets logo

Why now?

I just want to be enough to someone

By Jen PhillipsPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
1
Why now?
Photo by Oleg Illarionov on Unsplash

Am I enough?

My whole life no one shows up, when they do it’s because they need something.

But they never show up when I need them- I must not be enough

Why am I only enough out of convenience? When it matters the most to you

I'm only enough for the dog…. Seems to be the only one who shows up every time

Why can't I be enough for you? You complain that I've changed and drifted away and moving on

You're just saying this because I'm slowly seeing my worth and seeing through your bullshit

You just want me low enough so I can't see what it is you're doing to me

You're just upset that I am enough for me and if it's just me and the dog on this path that is okay.

Why does that matter to you though? You never cared enough before when I was desperate enough to just take what you gave- which is basically a fake ass smile with some bullshit

Why are you showing up now?

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Jen Phillips

Having a creative imagination has no limitations. My favourite past time is just dumping all my thoughts on to paper and seeing where it goes.

You can follow me on Instagram, Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    You're just saying this because I'm slowly seeing my worth and seeing through your bullshit That line was so powerful! Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.