Poets logo

Why me

Poem

By dr.tonyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Why me
Photo by Giuseppe Famiani on Unsplash

WHY ME?

You know me so well, more than just my name,

You've known me long enough to know how weak I can be at times,

That though I chose to be always happy sometimes anger overwhelms me,

That I am so unpredictable, sometimes I am too talkative, other times I just become dumb,

But you still chose me.

Among all men in the world today,

Those that are more wealthy than I am,

The ones that are educated and intelligent,

Men of admirable psyche and great looks,

You still chose me.

Is it because your love doesn't care,

It doesn't care who I am or where I am from,

It sees beyond what physical eyes can see,

It knows no conditions nor has limits,

It is a love like no other.

I guess this is also the way you chose your ancient prophets,

Stammerers became preachers,

Slaves became kings,

House girls became queens,

Cowards and herdsmen became soldiers,

Because you love us both in our brokenness and in our weaknesses.

Jocheka Smiles Cheiy

Imperfect poet

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.