Poets logo

Why I Left All The Work Undone

6 . 6 . 6 . 6 . 4 . 4

By Isaac HallPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like

Art and creation cost me ever more in soul,

they drain my vital cache by the barrel full.

Once emptied, I retreat from paint and brush,

run from the words that haunt me in the hush,

hold still the tongue that whispers when I sleep,

and close those roamless eyes through which I seep.

.

Once eyelids clash I find I'm young again,

but there's nothing in the dark worth ink and pen.

I try to conjure up my favorite things,

but find my little hands lack royal rings,

so shadows hobble forth and laugh at me,

and taunt me with a mocking bended knee.

.

I run to neverwhere, but find I'm stuck in tar,

of course, my feet could never take me far.

I launch my heart above the grasping ground,

build a country of rose tints in which I'm crowned,

dream within my dream of fondest things,

ponder wherein from such wonder springs.

.

But then a hammer strikes me in the chest,

a stinging doubt - the shadow of my best.

It lingers now, and never ever leaves.

I trudge with its dark water in my greaves,

and sing again, and write, and paint the beast

that lurks within. His shadow never ceased.

.

No matter what I make, I can dream more,

the moon is always judging, the silvery whore.

She casts the shadow and she pulls the thread,

that haunts the real with what's seen in bed.

.

I'll never reach the heights to judge another,

I suck, at almost everything, why bother?

Instead I just judge me, in bed below,

and from above, I strike a mortal blow.



surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Isaac Hall

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.