Poets logo

Why I don't drink

(because I'd been drinking when I wrote this)

By Benjamin KibbeyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Why I don't drink
Photo by Terry Vlisidis on Unsplash

Tonight I will fall,

Because updrafts can only carry you so long

Before you dive again

And feel the rush of diving, friend.

So I am going to dive into it,

Through the clouds and all the sky,

I'm going, for a moment,

To imagine what it might mean if we should die

Because we will someday,

And all these days that we have spent

And all the bits of mattered-not

And all the love we've lent

So tonight, I will allow the dark

Because running's no way to be,

And hold a vigil in my heart

For might and memory.

I just want to drink this wine,

But can't dislodge the cork

Or maybe it's a lack of 'One,'

Or maybe I'm a dork.

But there are songs I can just hear

At edges of this life

As haunting as a lullaby

That threatens in the night.

And so many of them paint a face,

The features of 'her' scape.

And all of these are emptiness

I've struggled to erase.

So I try, for now, to be this man,

This concept in between

The realism of what must be

And rending claws of dreams

I try to live from day to next,

And shape from that a plan,

To seem to have a goal in mind,

I, a concept of a man.

But this or nothing, all the same,

There's no honor, good, or bad.

There only is the day before

And crawling to the next.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Benjamin Kibbey

Award-winning journalist, Army vet and current freelance writer living in the woods of Montana.

Find out more about me or follow for updates on my website.

You can also follow me on Facebook and Twitter.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.