Poets logo

Why can't you look at me?

Why?

By Shaye B.Published about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Why can't you look at me?
Photo by Bruno Souza on Unsplash

Why can't you look at me?

Do you truly hate what you see?

Do you remember what we used to be?

When you used to love me?

Probably not

It's been a while since we've been at that spot

When our eyes would lock

And I'd take your breath away

And I'd never wonder my place

Or if you'd want me to stay

Now it feels like all we do is scream

To remember what that passion felt like

And it'd be nice

If when you'd talk I could listen

And when I told you I loved you

It wouldn't be a half truth

Because I'm half through

With the US that leaves me feeling lonely

When it's just us 2

With the US that lives in a suffocating silence

With the US full of uncertainty

Is that why you can't look at me?

social commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrylove poemsheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Shaye B.

Welcome to my trainwreck. I'm Shaye B and I'm pleased to make your aquaintence. I learned to read before I could talk and learned to write because I couldn't scream. I haven't quite learned to scream yet so I'll continue to write until then

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.