Poets logo

Whose Idea Was This?

The beach in January. Why do we do it to ourselves?

By L.C. SchäferPublished about a year ago 1 min read
18
Whose Idea Was This?
Photo by Benjamin Behre on Unsplash

restless foaming mirror

reflecting slate sky

and me

smatter of rain on my skin

seasoning my fish and chips

a little greasy

burning my fingers

tang of hot vinegar

in my froze nose

gulls shriek salt in my ear

feet taste hard pebbles

sharp rocks

gravel

then dessert of soft moist sand

an ice cream I don't really want

too cold on a chilly day

cooling my insides

to match my outsides

muted roar of retreating waves

get a picture

frozen smiles

we don't really feel

cheeks whipped by hairstrands

well isn't this nice?

+++++++

Thank you for reading! Please leave a comment so I can reciprocate.

+++++++

sad poetrynature poetry
18

About the Creator

L.C. Schäfer

Book-baby is available on Kindle Unlimited

Flexing the writing muscle

Never so naked as I am on a page. Subscribe for nudes.

Here be micros

Twitter, Insta Facey

Sometimes writes under S.E.Holz

"I've read books. Well. Chewed books."

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.about a year ago

    This is so well done; I've definitely been to those cold beaches 😅 It's supposed to be enjoyable but..is it? 😅 I really enjoyed this. :)

  • So beautifully written! I read it twice!

  • Nice piece ❤️

  • Suze Kayabout a year ago

    I grew up on the beach and this reminded me of home. Thanks for sharing 😊

  • Brenton Fabout a year ago

    Chips with vinegar! YUM!!!

  • emabout a year ago

    Hahahahaha this is the perfect depiction of any family that's booked to go to the beach in Jan because it's during schooltime so it's cheaper. You've warmed my heart with your froze nose!

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    Haha, eternal questions! But isn't this your answer: 'seasoning my fish and chips'? If it's wrapped in something Rupert Murdoch owns, then that's even better! You've gone and made me hungry for fish and chips and the winter seashore in one fell swoop L.C., great job!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    This was beautiful L.C.! It was raw and realistic, all my sense were engaged in this one. I felt like I was right there with you! Well done! 💜

  • Andrei Z.about a year ago

    I've been doing to myself much more terrible things😂 Haha, just a recent example: I went to work. And had to spend half a day in a specialized lab held at 4 °C as if I were a butcher working in a meat cold room

  • Mohammed Darasiabout a year ago

    never been a big beach guy.. i just always remember all the sand that i take as memorabilia to my poor house hahaha.. and in the UK you're hard pressed for a really good day.. although recently there have been heat waves, which brought with it another annoyance hahah

  • Kendall Defoe about a year ago

    I feel the same way during some wintertime jaunts to the water... Something just draws us in, doesn't it?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.