Poets logo

Who’s in the Trunk

A.H. Mittelman

By Alex H Mittelman Published 12 months ago 1 min read
Who’s in the Trunk
Photo by Andrea De Santis on Unsplash

Who’s that in the trunk?

Who’s body is going thunk, thunk, thunk?

This happens every time I go over a speed bump, the body hits the trunks ceiling and takes its share of lumps.

Who’s sound has ensnared my ear in its trap?

Who’s body can still make his trapped hands clap?

Who’s trying to desperately break free from inside my trunk?

I hear his legs kicking, clunk clunk clunk.

The man trapped in my trunk wasn’t going anywhere.

I’d open it up and make sure he’d stay right then and there.

I pulled over, opened the trunk, and punched him in the face.

“Stay where you are,” I shouted and showed him my large can of mace. He gave me a look of disgrace.

This seemed to frighten him to silence, though, because he didn’t say another word. He said nothing that could be audibly heard.

But just in case he changed his mind, I tied him up for the rest of my driving grind.

He was a dictator of a third world country called Camphoria. He would always say “this country’s for yah!”

His name was Gus Heard, but his people called him the biggest Rat Turd.

He was content beating his people daily, he said it was for the patriots acting bravely.

It was my job to capture Rat Turd and replace him with someone better for the herd.

Kidnapping him sounded absurd, but it worked, my code name was The Bird.

I work for an agency who’s name I can’t reveal. My mission classified, I caused real upheaval.

I drove Rat Turd to the airport to be flown to an unknown location. To this day he sits in a prison cell, pounding rocks is his new vocation.

how tosurreal poetrysocial commentaryperformance poetryinspirationalhumorfact or fiction

About the Creator

Alex H Mittelman

I love writing and just finished my first novel. Writing since I was nine. I’m on the autism spectrum but that doesn’t stop me! If you like my stories, click the heart, leave a comment. Link to book: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0CQZVM6WJ

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Joey Gervais 11 months ago

    Good good! Amazing!

  • Oooo, this was so awesomeeee! I loved it!

Alex H Mittelman Written by Alex H Mittelman

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.