Poets logo

Who Listens to the Stars?

Author- Lindsey McNair

By Lindsey McNairPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Who Listens to the Stars?
Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

The Stars:

There is rarely a star which hasn’t bowed beneath the wordless wishes of this earth.

We dream of swimming in seas of starlight, a wondrous experience.

But we never think of the forsaken virtues that corrupt it, how unkempt.

The stars hold the secrets of many mothers, and children, and absent fathers.

They cradle pathless dreams of the lonely, vagabond souls of the universe.

But who do the stars have to listen to, to help burden their secrets?

We never think about that, do we?

We nestle with lovers and friends in between bonfires, while they observe.

Albeit they cannot talk, who is there to listen?

When we return to our beds, heads falling onto soft cotton pillows on a jasmine wind, they do not.

They blaze from miles away, foreign and ancient– It’s a beautiful curse.

To be so beautiful and bright but be miles away from your worshippers.

Admirers, really.

They fall and are forgotten behind the dawn like old folk tales.

Only to return with the night, the harbingers of deadly sorrows.

Rare it is a star which hasn’t bowed beneath the wordless wishes of this earth.

So I ask again, who do the stars have to listen to?

Will they forever be damned to that lonely cycle?

The eternal keeper of secrets.

Uncommon it is, but one day I hope that there will one day be a star that will not have to bear these unfortunate witnesses to fate.

I dream they have someone to listen to, and as I wish for the stars, I hope one day, I have someone to listen to me too.

fact or fictionvintagesurreal poetrysocial commentaryslam poetrysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemsinspirationalheartbreakexcerptschildrens poetryart
Like

About the Creator

Lindsey McNair

I am a aspiring creative writer/author, mostly interested in High Fantasy. I am currently working on my first book, and I am so excited! In the mean time, I am planning on publishing small poems and/or short stories I have made.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.