Poets logo

Who I Am

Who I was Yesterday

By Elizabeth CripePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Who I Am
Photo by Justin Essah on Unsplash

Do not forget who I was yesterday

The crowds have faded with the still of night

What was hype is my anthem everyday

Work interview, the feel of overstay

My color was too much of a highlight.

Do not forget who I was yesterday

They jumped on the bandwagon, yesterday

Today, they view me as a parasite.

What was hype is my anthem everyday

Media says, knowing me is doomsday

Why, Because you like coke and I like sprite?

Do not forget who I was yesterday

Should my child be treated as a halfway?

To acknowledge difference is choosing sight.

What was hype is my anthem everyday

Men use religion as an overplay

Can religion and I not reunite?

Do not forget who I was yesterday

What was hype is my anthem everyday

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Elizabeth Cripe

I have lived an incredible life! I've travelled the world, was an English teacher, lived through multiple life threatening illnesses and accidents. I am the CEO of a non-profit, a mom of two amazing kids, a proud linewife and a Jesus lover.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.