Poets logo

Who I Am Today

Looking back on a less than perfect childhood and how it formed me.

By Thomas HawkinsPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
There is beauty for the just and the unjust.

Somewhere the baby cries little boy with two pierced ears. With every whimper his father sighs for they almost drown out his tears.

Somewhere else the mother dances flush from his buying her a new car. With another man exchanging glances contemplating leaving the bar.

Somewhere there is a star unused the father searches for it now the baby in his arms all confused "Lord I wish she could love me somehow."

See the father's getting older his days are growing dim. A youthful wife and now he's colder from financing all her whims.

What of this sweet baby child brand new to this world Born to a mother young and wild who only wished a girl?

With ribbons in his hair and dressed in pink not blue This boy is tossed without a care but his father loved him true.

Born sadly to be a boy couldn't be made into a daughter Just one more thing to her annoy "Thank God he's your real father!"

But then one glorious May morn the mother she did shout cause to her a wondrous girl was born "My life is right without doubt! "

Somewhere there's a grown man whose mother just forgot who once lost it all, lived in a van and now she's all he's got.

They called me peck for peckerwood for woodpecker I couldn't say but now they call me Lucifer that's who I am today!

I'm not ashamed of my past or anything I've done for now my mother's happy at last "How many kids, I've a daughter oh yeah and a son. "

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Thomas Hawkins

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.