Poets logo

Who Are You

Fighting Ableism

By Michelle Renee KidwellPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Thanks to Zachary Kyra-Derksen @zachaery for making this photo available freely on Unsplash 🎁 https://unsplash.com/photos/0bDd5rZlZmk

I thank God for my handicaps, for through them I have found myself, my work and my God.” — Helen Keller

Who are you

To judge me

So quickly

To define me

By the things

You think

Limit me?

Who are you

To look at me

With eyes of pity

When you don’t

Even know my story?

Who are you

To place me

In a box

You define

Tell the world

What I can

And cannot do

A stranger who

Doesn’t even know

My face

Doesn’t get

To define me

In that way

Who are you

To place limitations

On me

Without a clue

Of my capabilities?

(C) Michelle R Kidwell

Jan.11.2022

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Michelle Renee Kidwell

Abled does not mean enabled. Disabled does not mean less abled.” ― Khang Kijarro Nguyen

Fighting to end ableism, one, poem, story, article at a time. Will you join me?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • E.K. Daniels6 months ago

    This is powerful, Michelle. Thank you for sharing. An important reminder to never let someone define you. We could all learn a lesson here…

  • MecAsaf8 months ago

    Fantastic

  • Amy Hall2 years ago

    I enjoyed reading this piece, well done! I subscribed to you! I am just starting out and would very much like if you have time to read some of my work and if you like it please subscribe! I look forward to reading more of your work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.