Poets logo

Who are the 500?

Another Vocal Milestone...

By Kendall Defoe Published 5 months ago 1 min read
16
Nice on a Sunday night

Note: this was written as a thank you to my readers and subscribers for helping me reach this significant number...and also an enquiry as to how I did it. Any thoughts?

*

Who are my 500?

Who are the lucky ones

to see my work and reply,

telling what they like and why

(occasionally a critique on my page)?

*

Is there something here

for every single reader; all done

as soon as I find the right words to share

with that bigger world right out there

(usually something worthy of that stage)?

*

Too many questions for you;

not enough of that old sort of fun

you commented on in my past

when I wrote something to last

(always attempting to try and engage)?

*

I thank you all for you words,

and hearts of valentine – all blacked ones.

I promise to keep my work coming through

and create stories, critiques, just for you

(plenty more of my joy and usual rage).

By Wilhelm Gunkel on Unsplash

*

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Kendall Defoe on my Vocal profile. I complain, argue, provoke and create...just like everybody else.

Give it a look...

social commentaryinspirationalhumorfact or fiction
16

About the Creator

Kendall Defoe

Teacher, reader, writer, dreamer... I am a college instructor who cannot stop letting his thoughts end up on the page.

And I did this: Buy Me A Coffee... And I did this:

Blogger

Squawk Back

Quora

Reedsy

Instagram

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (10)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy Deslippe5 months ago

    Congratulations,

  • Yayyyyyy congratulations on hitting 500! I'm so happy to be one of them!

  • Mark Gagnon5 months ago

    Yup, another one of the valiant 500 here. Congrats on your achievements.

  • Impressive. How'd you manage it? By writing consistently & consistently well, Kendall.

  • Wow! Impressive & well deserved achievement... that's a few subscribers!!!

  • Rene Volpi 5 months ago

    I'm a happy subscriber. 500 is awesome! Good for you! I'm still trekking to reach 100, lol.

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    🖤me

  • Matthew Fromm5 months ago

    congrats! I am also one of the 500

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    I am one of the 500...I love your range of work from your more factual/beat/destination type pieces to your poetry and fiction. Always gives me food for thought! Well done on a fine fine achievement!

  • Heather Hubler5 months ago

    What an achievement! I’m one of the lucky 500. Looking forward to more work from you :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.