Poets logo

Who Am I Trying To Be

"Isn't it enough to believe"

By Derek EversPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Who Am I Trying To Be
Photo by Jason Strull on Unsplash

If you're hoping I'll give up and leave,

cry my eyes out,

and let it be;

that'll never be me.

---

Thought I would follow your lead,

and be typical you?

However hard it is to see,

that'll never be me.

---

Fighting for all I'll ever need,

but you want me to move on,

and accept reality;

no, that'll never be me.

---

Isn't it enough to believe,

to chase after that dream,

even if there's no guarantee;

couldn't that be me?

---

Maybe I'll bleed,

holding onto this idea,

or maybe I'll fall down to my knee;

couldn't that be me?

---

The artist's creed,

without hesitation, I signed,

when I dreamed the dream I will achieve;

watch it be me.

---

And I think by now we can agree,

that you could never be me.

Thank you for reading! If you enjoyed, then please share, leave a like or a tip, or check out some of my other writing by clicking on my profile icon. Thank you for your support, I truly appreciate it!

Let me know your thoughts on Instagram/Twitter - @doitlikederk

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Derek Evers

Hello! I'm Derek, a writer based in Portland, OR. Author of short stories, poetry, and blog posts about the things that interest me. Be kind to yourself and others, always.

IG: deverswriting

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.