Poets logo

Who am I (poem)

A poem that gently dives into what makes someone themselves.

By Ben Ray Published 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
2
(The words "who am I?" on a background of old looking papers with blurred poems)

"~" indicates stanza breaks as this platform is not set up for poetry.

Who am I?

~

The concept,

Of

One’s self.

The concept,

Of

One’s identity.

So

Basic,

So

Intriguing,

So

Absract,

~

There is

So much,

That can

Be said.

~

But

When looking

For,

The real truth,

Justice,

Can not

Be brought,

With a bokay

Of words.

~

There is

So much,

And yet,

So little

To explain.

~

You

Can talk

Culture.

~

You

Can talk

Religion.

~

You

Can talk

Gender.

~

You

Can talk

Skin.

~

There is

So much

Of which,

You can talk.

~

But

With each word,

There is

An ocean.

Waiting

To talk.

Laying,

Just under

The surface.

~

One

is more,

Than

The sum,

Of one’s parts.

~

One is

More,

Than

Can be described,

With mear words.

~

Who am I?

I ask again,

A question,

That is

So,

Seemingly simple.

And yet,

Utterly

complex.

~

The only

Answer

That I can give,

Takes

The form,

Of

One

Simple

Word.

~

Me.

~

I am me.

~

A statement

So bold,

And yet

So simple.

~

Me.

~

The only answer,

That rings true.

~

I am me.

~

No more.

No less.

~

I

Am,

Just

Simply,

Me.

Like this poem? I have more poems and several different series that I am working on. I keep a google doc housing summaries of each story and all of the installations that I've posted in an easy to navigate google doc

Please, heart, tip, subscribe, and tell your friends!

~~Ben Ray

inspirational
2

About the Creator

Ben Ray

I have poems and series and one shots. I keep a google doc with organized summaries and listings of each story and all of the parts that I've posted.

docs.google.com/document/d/1peKsDklUnqcKA1MjpZpPpYj9WuR-XI5P0U4ajbckmTI/edit?usp=sharing

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.