Poets logo

Who am I

The cycle of identity

By Erin CuellarPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
1

Today I awoke when I should not have.

I looked all around me and just saw the staff.

Scenes of a hospital are all around me.

Apparently, someone heard my plea.

They called for help and now here I am.

Wondering why someone would give a damn.

I obviously don’t and am wondering who.

Who should I be so I am not so blue.

This version of me is not what I want.

Am I a friend, a worker, a sister, or an aunt?

The list of identity toys with my brain.

So overwhelming, it is difficult to explain.

In the mirror I look and am sad what I see.

I have no idea, who is this version of me?

In this girl’s eye there is a small twinkle of hope.

I will latch onto this thought and not be a dope.

I can be who I want but I have to be strong.

The version of me serving others has gone on for too long.

Slowly I find help in discovering my being.

I can stand up to others and stop all the fleeing.

The face in the mirror it is beginning to change.

She no longer looks distant as well as strange.

I can be who I want without recourse from others.

The peace that comes with not feeling smothered.

This is a cycle I have learned as I grow as a human.

When the pain becomes too much, I must take the room in.

And let the cracks and crevices grow until the shell is gone.

Letting the new version come out, oh so strong.

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Erin Cuellar

I love writing. It is a great outlet and I am excited to learn from folks on here.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    This was so profound, poignant and powerful. Loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.