Poets logo

Who Am I?

Do I really even know...

By Pam ReederPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
From Canva Pro

Who am I?

Do I really even know?

Most people are pursuing their dreams.

But if you ask me what my dreams are,

I don't readily have an answer.

I could have told you when I was 7, or 11, and maybe 16.

But not now.

I allowed my life to be swallowed up

Making the dreams and desires of others come true.

I have no idea how or why I never thought to do it for myself also.

When you are raised in a generation that believed in putting others before self

And that servicing others is why you exist

I got lost in that.

So, while everyone else is living their dreams,

I seem to always be scanning their horizons wondering how I can be of service next.

Of service. How did that happen to me?

Living only to be of service?

People wonder why I find that so hollow.

Because....

I know everyone else but me.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Pam Reeder

Stifled wordsmith re-embracing my creativity. I like to write stories that tap into raw human emotions.

Author of "Bristow Spirits on Route 66", magazine articles, four books under a pen name, technical writing, stories for my grandkids.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.