Poets logo

A poem a day

is therapy

By Pam ReederPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
A poem a day
Photo by Kuba Regulski on Unsplash

A poem a day

Is therapy

It is a positive routine

That keeps me rallied around my keyboard

I like the tippy-tap-tap of my keys

As I flow these words onto a virtual page.

A white screen sets the stage

For whatever visions unfold

With my typing.

Tippy-tap-tap of my keys purges pain

When I need to purge pain.

Or when I want to reminisce on sweet memories.

I do have sweet memories.

Sometimes I let them get lost

In the funk and junk that floats on the surface of my mind

Making me blind to the better, happier thoughts beneath.

Like layers of sediment in the earth

Those happy thoughts and memories

Are below that hard crust of of life's abuses

I dig a bit and pierce that crust

And it's like a geyser gushing its bounty

Things I had forgotten

But now I get to see anew.

It was definitely worth the effort.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Pam Reeder

Stifled wordsmith re-embracing my creativity. I like to write stories that tap into raw human emotions.

Author of "Bristow Spirits on Route 66", magazine articles, four books under a pen name, technical writing, stories for my grandkids.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydredabout a year ago

    Lovely words Pam

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.